An exceptionnal environment

A synergy between higher education, research and industry

Grenoble is a city at the heart of the french Alps with a well established tradition of high-tech industrial developments. In 1869 Aristide Bergès invented hydro-electricity in Grenoble, for the benefit of the paper industry. Since then the city  has grown in a major area for research, advanced technologies and higher education. This exceptionnal synergy is a pillar of the Grenoble environment , which counts 22,800 research jobs.

With more than 30 research institutes in the domain of nanosciences, thousands square meters of clean rooms and nano-world facilities, a rich industrial environment in micro-electronics and bio-technologies, and a strong involvement of national and european research institutions, the Grenoble area is a leading place in the world of the nano's. Grenoble is home to the most intense neutron source in the world (ILL), to Europe's largest synchrotron X-ray source, the ESRF, to an outstation of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL). It hosts the R&D department of several worldwide companies.The Grenoble/Crolles area, also named the french silicon valley, is one of the 5 world actors leading the advanced production technologies in micro-electronics.

Grenoble-Isère is home to four universities and 65,250 students,  half of which enrolled in science programs. High-quality academic programs in mathematics, IT, electronics, and process engineering have earned Grenoble a strong international reputation in the sciences. The area’s universities are attended by 9,000 international students.

Grenoble rated as the 1st place for students in France.

Key figures

  • 65,250 students
  • 9,000 international students
  • 4 universities
  • 7 engineering schools
  • 23 international Master’s programs
  • 13 doctoral schools
  • 3 Nobel prizes in physics: Rudolf Mössbauer (1961), Louis Néel (1970), Klaus Von Klitzing (1985)
  • 2 Nobel prizes in chemistry: Ada Yonath et Venkatraman Ramakrishnan (2009), Brian Kobilka (2012)
  • Wolf prize for physics: Philippe Nozières (1985)
  • Turing Award: Joseph Sifakis (2007)